Mobile Technologies in Adult Learning

ipad

Mobile technologies are the new wave of adult learning. As an ESL teacher, I need to have tips and tricks up my sleeve for activities and what better than having an I-pad or other such mobile devise to create lesson plans quickly, efficiently and on the spot. This blog will discuss two mobile technologies and how they are useful to an ESL environment.

The first mobile technology that I will be discussing is i-lessonplan. I-lessonplan gives the teacher (me) the ability to not have to hand write lesson plans, collaborate and share with other teachers, and give access to administrators for approval and or revisions. It takes the hassle and preparation time out of developing extensive lesson plans and in teaching ESL becomes quite useful since I have never been paid for prep time. It is uncommon in Europe to be paid to prepare for classes yet teachers are expected to come prepared to teach their own lessons. I was earning anywhere from 10-14 euro per hour in Europe (Rome) and working at most 25 hours per week makes for a meager paycheck, thus creating lesson plans can be quite daunting. Furthermore, having an I-Pad application is even more useful. One of the school’s I taught at in Rome (Centro ProLingua) gave teachers I-Pads which they thought helpful to store books on. I never realized (until now) that the I-Pad could also be used to store applications to make teaching easier. Not only can I play a video clip or audio clip but I can have something for me, to make teaching easier and more efficient (especially when teaching corporate clientele). Using this specific application is good for the student and the teacher because it allows both to benefit from the technology and develop a deeper sense of the information being taught. 

https://www.ilessonplan.com/

Another good mobile technology that I would like to share is designed to, “This application features forms and tools commonly used by teachers such as a Daily Agenda, Long Term Planner, EZ Grader, Special Recognition, Permission Slips and more, allowing teachers the ability to complete their paperwork anywhere for rapid distribution to parents, colleagues and school administrators” (itunes.com). As mentioned in my previous blurb, I have taught and will be continuing to teach in the field of ESL, so even the most minute paperwork needs to be streamlined. Students (especially when teaching corporate English clients that I have) appreciate the feedback and grades in the old fashioned way yet are open to new technologies. It would be nice to incorporate I-pads for students as well and have them be able to check and review their grades and feedback which is critical for L2 development. Administrators can also check on progress and progress reports can be sent to clients and companies on behalf of the student. In Italy in general, a feature like this would be widely beneficial as a lot of language schools continue to use old-fashioned methods often without formal reviews, which again is critically important to L2 acquisition. 

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/teachers-app-box/id458139170?mt=8

These are just two of many applications that are on the market and the link below will guide you to some more and I am sure some more after that. We should all just take some time to evaluate our individual teacher needs, our students needs and determine which program is best suited for our situation. The above two are suitable for me, if I continue to teach in the field of ESL overseas, though for teachers in the K-12 environment, you may need other types of technologies that are approved and appropriate for that environment. Please feel free to give feedback and tell me what you think!

http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2013/05/top-101-ipad-apps-for-lesson-planning.html

 

References

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/teachers-app-box/id458139170?mt=8

http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2013/05/top-101-ipad-apps-for-lesson-planning.html

https://www.ilessonplan.com/

 

 

 

Leave a comment